Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

“‘He Showed Him the Likeness of the Tabernacle’: The Biblical Tabernacle in Samaritan Literature and Art”

March 14 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Free

Tuesday, March 14 at 12:00 pm ET / 9:00 am PT / 7:00 pm Israel
Feld lunch and learn with Steven Fine, Ph.D., Churgin Professor of Jewish History, Yeshiva University

Samaritans believe that Joshua constructed the biblical Tabernacle on Mt. Gerizim, and that it will be discovered buried there at the end of days. Dr. Fine will present little-known Samaritan literary and visual sources on the Tabernacle (including a drawing from the Klau Library collection). He will contrast these Samaritan sources with Jewish, Christian, and Muslim conceptions of this most important biblical icon.

A partnership of the Klau Library and Mayerson JCC, in association with the Yeshiva University Center for Israel Studies.

Details

Date:
March 14
Time:
12:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Cost:
Free
Event Tags:
,
Website:
https://huc.edu/libraries/library-events/

Organizer

Hebrew Union College